Strength of Brotherhood

National Hazing Prevention Week (NHPW) is September 22-26, 2014! NHPW is an opportunity for campuses, schools, communities, organizations and individuals to raise awareness about the problem of hazing, education others about hazing, and promote the prevention of hazing. In honor of NHPW, we asked several Brothers to tell us a bit about their experiences with and without hazing. These testimonials prove that not only is hazing not needed to create a worthwhile fraternity experience, but it is a detriment to the respect, loyalty and brotherhood we strive to create.

Chris Feldman is a recent graduate of University of Washington. He served Alpha Theta Delta as #1, leading the Alpha to winning the Thayer Trophy.

Chris Feldman is a recent graduate of University of Washington. He served Alpha Theta Delta as #1, leading the Alpha to winning the Thayer Trophy.

Coming into the University of Washington, I knew I wanted to join a fraternity. But with 32 fraternities on campus, I also knew I had the opportunity to choose what fraternity was the best fit for me. One of my top criteria in the fraternities I chose to pursue was the strength of the brotherhood and the respect brothers had for one another. In choosing Chi Psi, I knew that the relationships I would form would be both lifelong and built on a foundation of respect.

By not being hazed, I was able to build bonds not only with my pledge brothers, but the entire Alpha as well. Knowing that there was mutual respect in my interactions with brothers motivated me to become involved at Theta Delta and help to continue this tradition. From taking on smaller roles my freshmen year to leading Theta Delta as #1, I always strived to foster an environment of inclusion.

Sorority women, parents and alumni always comment on how close-knit our brotherhood is. If hazing played a role in our Alpha, I know that Theta Delta would be much more divided and would not have any of the success that we have had since our re-founding. To live up to our motto of gentlemen pursuing excellence, we must always strive to keep hazing and other divisive elements out of our brothers’ experience.

Leave a Reply

