Proving ourselves as Chi Psi Gentlemen

National Hazing Prevention Week (NHPW) is September 22-26, 2014! NHPW is an opportunity for campuses, schools, communities, organizations and individuals to raise awareness about the problem of hazing, education others about hazing, and promote the prevention of hazing. In honor of NHPW, we asked several Brothers to tell us a bit about their experiences with and without hazing. These testimonials prove that not only is hazing not needed to create a worthwhile fraternity experience, but it is a detriment to the respect, loyalty and brotherhood we strive to create.

Forrest McGuire is a recent graduate of Miami University. While at Miami, he served Alpha Rho Delta as #1. Br. McGuire was also an Ambassador for the Pacific Rim Study Abroad Program, Chief of Staff for the Miami University Associated Student Government, President of the Residence Hall Community Council, Student Representative for the Miami University Administrative Search Committees, a mentor for the Greek Leaders ADVANCE & ACROPOLIS Leadership Retreat Programs, and a member of Toastmasters International Public Speaking Organization

Forrest McGuire is a recent graduate of Miami University. While at Miami, he served Alpha Rho Delta as #1. Br. McGuire was also an Ambassador for the Pacific Rim Study Abroad Program, Chief of Staff for the Miami University Associated Student Government, President of the Residence Hall Community Council, Student Representative for the Miami University Administrative Search Committees, a mentor for the Greek Leaders ADVANCE & ACROPOLIS Leadership Retreat Programs, and a member of Toastmasters International Public Speaking Organization

I have been hazed. Not by my Brothers in Chi Psi, but by others in a different campus organization. Having experienced both sides of the spectrum, I can honestly say, without a doubt in my mind, that being part of a non-hazing organization led me to be more involved, have much greater respect and pride for my fraternity. For the organization that hazed me, sure I felt close to my pledging members because we were going through the same experience; but I loathed all of the older members for what they were doing to me. I never grew close to them because there would always be an underlying feeling of inferiority, even after I became a member. 

 

Once I came to Alpha Rho Delta, I immediately felt wanted and appreciated by all of the Brothers. They were invested in my growth and my potential to give back to the fraternity and they treated me like a Brother only without voting and ritual privileges. Only six years after getting our charter, we were voted ‘Chapter of the Year’ on Miami’s campus which, I believe, was largely in part to our vision and respect we gave to each other that was passed down from pledge class to pledge class. 

 

It only takes one change of “tradition” to steer the course of an entire organization’s future, whether it be for better or for worse. We tell the world that we are gentlemen, but that means nothing unless it is followed by actions that prove ourselves to truly be Gentlemen In The Pursuit of Excellence. 

Leave a Reply

