The Founder I Relate to Most – Justin Maharana

For this year’s Founders’ Day blog series, we asked each member of the staff to go back to their days as a pledge class remember and learn about Chi Psi’s founders to tell us which one they most relate to. The results are sometimes funny, sometimes inspiring and always educational (about the founders and the staff). Next up, is Justin Maharana:

The man that I choose to write my Founder’s Day blog isn’t necessarily a Founding Father that I believe I have much in common with on paper. He was born, raised, and spent most of his life in Kentucky, while I was born and raised on Long Island, New York. He spent his life’s work in commitment to the law, while I plan on moving on a path in business, with basic knowledge of our governance. But despite these obvious differences, I admire the intangible values and characteristics that this man possesses – faithfulness, kindness, loyalty, and efficiency. The Founding Father that I am talking about if you have not guessed is Patrick Upshaw Major, Pi ’42.

MajorWhen thinking about those four principles that I mentioned, it is clear to see how Br. Major was destined for a successful career in law where he served his clients best interests with logic, and unprecedented preparation. I can relate to this aspect of his work because it reminds me of a quote that I heard when I was in grade school that has always stuck with me-“Luck is where preparation meets opportunity.” Now, I am not exactly sure where I heard it, or who said it, but the message is very clear. That we don’t always know when an opportunity may present itself to us and that most of the time it is rather unexpected or unplanned. But what we can control is how ready we are to answer that opportunity, at any given time. That luck can be leveraged through constant and relentless work ethic coupled with being proactive in the pursuit of our aspirations.

Other than his commitment to preparation in pursuit of victory, the very nature of practicing law exhibits his pure heart of defending those who may not be able to defend themselves. This speaks volumes to myself because I firmly believe that as Chi Psi’s and leaders throughout our community that we are both equally responsible for our actions, and our lack of action. And it’s Br. Major’s kindness and unwavering loyalty to those that he cares about that exemplifies the true spirit of a Chi Psi gentleman! Of our enduring virtues, I believe that Br. Major personifies fidelity, charity, and good judgement. He was well respected and highly regarded by any one, and I hope to be held in even half that esteem among my acquaintances, colleagues, friends, and Brothers alike.

Maha

I would like to genuinely wish all our Brothers a truly happy Founders Day and hope that this reaches you all in good spirits! I for one and am both optimistic and excited for the future of our great Fraternity. Best of everything!

“The true gentleman is the man…who thinks of the rights and feelings of others, rather than his own;

And who appears well in any company,

A man with whom honor is sacred and virtue safe.”

-The True Gentleman by John Walter Wayland

YITB,

Maha

Maha2

Leave a Reply

