A Frozen Four to Remember

Well it’s no secret that I have an unhealthy obsession with cawwlidge hawwkey. Growing up in Massachusetts, it’s not just a sport, it’s a lifestyle. The rivalry between Boston College and Boston University can be compared to that of the historic Minnesota v. North Dakota matchup, and the Bean Pot hockey tournament is easily the most watched collegiate sporting event in the state. While walking down Causeway Street outside the TD Garden in downtown Boston, don’t be surprised when you see college students and fans alike chanting and antagonizing each other. “Sucks to BU!” and “Fly Eagles Fly!” were and continue to be my two all-time favorite lines.

Last weekend, Hockey Night in Chi Psi reported live from Philadelphia at the 2014 Frozen Four! This had been my 3rd consecutive Frozen Four, while Br. Holman was experiencing his first. Tagging along with us were Brs. Mike Kosusko, Xi ’77, Justus Johnson, Chi Delta ’15, and Nathan Brinling,Rho Delta ’14. What made this Frozen Four even more special was that my alma mater Union College had advanced and was predicted by many to give powerhouses Minnesota and Boston College a run for their money. I had purchased these tickets last November without the slightest hint this scenario would take place (and boy was I happy and a nervous wreck all at the same time!)

ZolotBlog4

I’m not going to recap my dream of Union College winning the national title coming true, but I wanted to share with you all the feeling of brotherhood that I experienced throughout my epic and unforgettable weekend. First, look at our all-star crew. Talk about random. You had a Pi brother, two Rho Deltas, a Chi Delta, and a Xi. Second, the national title game could not have been scripted better. Alpha Pi vs. Alpha Nu. The historic battle between Philip Spencer vs. Dr. Dan. I received more trash talk text messages from brothers in Minneapolis than any fan base I’ve ever encountered.  I would be lying if I didn’t trash back, but I loved getting the last laugh! Third, how about that picture of the Alpha Nu brothers watching their national semifinal game against North Dakota outside the Lodge on University Avenue? Too cool! And lastly, I met and reconnected with more Alpha Pi brothers than I ever have before.

NuHockey

 

For Union, this Frozen Four appearance was monumental. For Alpha Pi, hockey success was a part of our history. Before Union decided to participate in Division 1 in 1991, the program competed at the Division 3 level. Over half the players on Union’s varsity roster were brothers of Alpha Pi, and nearly all of them were French-Canadian. I remember hosting an event at the Lodge over ReUnion (alumni) weekend my sophomore year and hearing our alumni talk in French to each other. I was like “What the heck?” Not to mention they were all Montreal Canadians fans….gross.

ZolotBlog1

My point in telling you all this is to emphasize that Chi Psi extends beyond your own Alpha. It extends across generations and graduation years, and it extends beyond your region. It’s a special bond that enhances any experience. In the same way sports can unify cities and people in times of distress, Chi Psi serves as a foundation that has the power to bring us all together. I encourage you all to continue to take advantage of this amazing opportunity and meet brothers from other Alphas. It’s the memories that Chi Psi creates that you’ll take with you throughout the rest of your life.

GO UNION!

 

YITB,

Justin Zolot

ZolotBlog3

Leave a Reply

