Meet the Newest Staffers – James Holman, Rho Delta ’12

BLOG PIC 2

Where are you from? Where’d you join Chi Psi?

Hey guys. My name is James Holman and I grew up in the heart of the Rustbelt in Youngstown, Ohio. I went from living ten minutes from Pennsylvania to living ten minutes from Indiana when I decided to attend Miami University. I joined Chi Psi in the Spring of 2010 and served in several capacities, most notably as the #33/Recruitment Chairman. I majored in Business Administration with a minor in History.

Other than Chi Psi, what do you like to do with your free time?

In short—everything. I’m pretty much all about putting retirement into its proper use. I’m sort of a jack-of-all trades/master of none type of guy when it comes to my interests. It’s hard for me to get into specifics because that wouldn’t represent how annoyingly inquisitive I am. Generally speaking I like sports, reading, and music. I’m just as comfortable talking about the past 20 years of the Premier League as I am talking about how MLB’s economic structure makes it the most uneven playing field for small markets in American sports. But really I’m all about experiencing as many things as I can. It is pretty rare for me to turn down something I’m that is unfamiliar to me.

BLOG PIC 1

Why do you want to work for the Central Office?

I have always enjoyed placing myself into positions where I can help change people’s lives. It is what initially attracted me to getting so involved in recruitment for my own Alpha. Working for Central Office will allow me to continue to grow as a person and professional while also allow me to truly enjoy my job every single day. Perhaps just as important I will be able to give back to an organization that has been such a rewarding experience in my life. I look forward to seeing all the different manifestations of Greek Life that exist elsewhere and the unique challenges that each Alpha has to face.

What are you most looking forward to about an Alpha Visitor?

I’m most looking forward to seeing as many of the absolutely incredible universities that Chi Psi calls home. My favorite thing about Chi Psi at the national level is that its mission is intimate and consistent across all the various schools. I want to learn each campus’s little traditions that make it a special place to call home for four years. Beyond that I am excited to be put in a position where I will get to interact with Chi Psis on a daily basis.

BLOG PIC 4

Leave a Reply

