Favorite Holiday Traditions – Teri Forsythe

For this year’s Thanksgiving blog series, we decided to ask the Central Office staff to tell us about their favorite holiday traditions. Each day this week, you’ll hear from someone on staff and find out what each of us like the most about the holiday season, and hopefully you’ll let us know your favorite traditions as well.

First up is Development and Communications Coordinator Teri Forsythe.

********************************************************************************

Morning gents! I don’t know about you, but this is my absolute favorite time of the year. I love the holiday decorations and cheerful music. I love the food, and I love all of the wonderful traditions. In fact, it’s tough for me to pick one single tradition that is my favorite.

I come from a large family that loves it some tradition. My family does dinner together every Sunday, carves pumpkins together every Halloween, dyes Easter eggs together every year, so you can imagine how we do this time of year.

Thanksgiving is a four-day affair in my family. We start that Wednesday evening when my grandparents come to my parents house to stuff the turkey. For some reason my mom always makes the turkey, but my grandmother makes the stuffing.  So we all get together to watch them stuff the turkey, eat dinner and decorate my parents’ Christmas tree.

The next morning is my favorite! We all get up to the smell of turkey roasting in the oven and my mom makes breakfast while my sister and I watch Chi Psi’s own Santa in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. We always watch it on NBC because they show the cheesy bits from Broadway shows. My sister and I still reenact the awful scene from Xanadu The Musical they did in 2007. Oh yes…

The main event, Thanksgiving dinner is always at my grandparent’s house with my mom’s entire family. We’re about 20-25 strong these days. We have more food than you can imagine, and none of it is good for you which is what makes it taste so good!

Day three is Black Friday. My mom, sister and I hit the stores, though not as early as we used to, to fight the crowds for some great deals! Honestly the deals aren’t even that great, but at this point it’s tradition so we always do it no matter how insane it is.

The last day of our four-day Thanksgiving is back at my grandparents’ house where the whole family gets together to decorate my grandparents’ Christmas tree (because no one in my family decorates alone) and exchange gifts of Christmas decorations. You wouldn’t believe how many ornaments, nativity scenes and singing Santas and snowmen I’ve collected over the years!

Happy Holidays from my family to yours!

I know in comparison to most, my family may be a bit over the top in the holiday tradition department, but to me that’s what makes this the most wonderful time of the year. So many excuses to see family and friends and celebrate another year of being together. Plus, Thanksgiving means it’s officially acceptable to listen to Christmas music!

What’s your favorite thing to do with family during the holiday season?

Leave a Reply

