Who are you thankful to call a Brother? – Justin Froeber

I’m very thankful to be a Chi Psi. My Chi Psi experience has been an experience that I wouldn’t trade for the world. I have had the opportunity to have a lot of great laughs, make some great memories, and form some awesome friendships. There are a lot of Chi Psis in my life that I am thankful for, but today I want to pay tribute to a Brother that I have always looked up to, Brother Carson Narron, Pi Delta ’08.

Carson and his fiancée

As a freshmen pledging Chi Psi at NC State I was not necessarily the most humble and devoted person to the fraternity (I’m sure my Pi Delta Brothers would say I’m putting that nicely). Chi Psi was not exactly the highest thing on my priority list.

On April 20, 2007 I was initiated into Chi Psi, but because of my lack of devotion I was initiated last in my pledge class. While it was a really happy moment for my pledge class I had a sense of personal disappointment. Don’t get me wrong I was proud to be initiated but I was just struggling with the fact that I finished last in my pledge class.

Seeing that I was a little troubled a Brother pulled me to the side to chat. This Brother was Carson Narron. Carson was a second year senior at the time and on this day Carson had a lot of great things to say to me. However, there is one thing that Carson told me that I will never forget, he told me “Justin, you will only get out of this fraternity what you put into it.”

Carson’s words still echo in my mind to this day, and his words of wisdom are words that I try to share with each Brother, pledge, or recruit I come in contact with.

After Carson shared his thoughts with me. I began to watch how he conducted himself as a Chi Psi, and over the remainder of Carson’s time as an active undergraduate Brother I would learn a lot from him.

Brother Narron having some fun with Brother Bignell, Brother George, and Brother Baratta

Carson had an incredible passion for Chi Psi as an undergrad. He lived in the Lodge for four years and was a silent leader amongst the Brotherhood. He would do anything for any of the Brothers and devoted all that he could to Chi Psi. He always brought energy, fun, and excitement to the room and was always there bringing something positive to the table.

Brother Narron is probably one of the most humble, level-headed, and thoughtful people I have ever met. But the one thing that sticks out to me the most is the fact that Carson is the personification of a Chi Psi Gentleman. Nothing speaks louder than Carson’s devotion to his values. Carson’s actions have always done the talking for him.

Carson, like many other Chi Psis, served as a friend, mentor, and role model to me. I’m thankful for Brothers like Carson Narron. It is probably safe to say that if were not for Brothers like him my undergraduate experience would have been a lot different. If it were not for Chi Psi I would have missed out on many of the deepest and most meaningful relationships in my life.

Since being initiated into Chi Psi I have shared a special bond with many Brothers, and there a lot of Chi Psis that I am thankful for. This Thanksgiving I hope each of you will reach out to a Brother that has meant a lot to you and just say thank you. Happy Thanksgiving Brothers!

p.s. Carson, you don’t have a facebook so it was incredibly hard to track down pictures of you!

Leave a Reply

