Can your Alpha replace its Steve Jobs?

-Teri Forsythe, Development and Communications Coordinator

Image representing Steve Jobs as depicted in C...

Image via CrunchBase

As someone who studied advertising and public relations in school, I have long admired Apple and the innovation they bring to not only their products but the way they market those products. Like many other Apple admirers, I was shocked to hear that Steve Jobs, the fearless leader responsible for this innovation, was stepping down as CEO of Apple.

So many people immediately announced that this would be the end of Apple as we know it, that no one would be able to replace this iconic leader, but Jobs, being the innovator that he is, saw that doubt coming and created a solution, recommending Tim Cook, Apple’s former COO to take his place.

This reminded me of my own time as an active member of my chapter of Alpha Omicron Pi. While senior year was an extremely exciting time for me, I couldn’t help but wonder if all of the work I had put into my chapter would be carried on. With that in mind, like Jobs, I took building a sound succession plan on as my mission.

Recruitment had always been an important part of my sorority experience, but senior year I was no longer just looking to bring in girls that I could enjoy being around and possibly see taking on some leadership. That year my mission at recruitment was the find the right women to replace me and my fellow seniors. Now I know I’m no Steve Jobs, but as an active leader in my chapter I knew this was important. That recruitment was my opportunity to select the women I’d leave my chapter with, my chance to be sure that my four years of hard work were not in vain.

Pledge class 2005 during our senior year recruitment

As your Alphas are in the midst of recruitment, are you thinking about the men you are choosing as your own replacement? You should because that’s exactly what they are. If you are a senior who has completely checked out of fraternity, I urge you to check back in for recruitment.

Looking back, I am proud of the wonderful things that my chapter has accomplished since I left, and I know that none of that would have been possible without thoughtful recruiting efforts from the many leaders who have passed through. I know that I not only left a mark on my chapter, but I helped recruit women who continue leaving that legacy today.

Leave a Reply

