Why are you thankful for Chi Psi? – #23 Sam Bessey

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, everyone at the Central Office was asked one simple question this week: Why are you thankful for Chi Psi?

Each day this week, you’ll hear from someone on staff and find out why they are thankful for this great brotherhood, and hopefully you’ll let us know why you are thankful for Chi Psi as well.

Today, find out why #23 Sam Bessey is thankful for his Chi Psi family…

*************************************************

It’s difficult to capture all the reasons I’m thankful for Chi Psi.  There are, of course, the big obvious ones:  for the most part, my best friends are all Chi Psis, I met my wife through Chi Psi, the Fraternity has been a supportive employer of me for 13 years, and it’s provided me an additional layer of connectedness with my father, as I followed in his footsteps to Oregon and the Lodge at 1018 Hilyard Street.  But it is what I see the Brotherhood doing for others that I’m most thankful for this season.

In tragic moments – for instance the death of a parent, spouse, sibling, and child – I’ve seen friendships in Chi Psi provide comfort and healing.  In sickness and financial distress, I’ve seen strangers provide significant succor and assistance to a Brother in need, knowing nothing about him other than the fact that this man was a Chi Psi.

In joyous times I’ve seen Brothers reconnect after years of separation and find that it feels like no time has passed at all.  And these are all specific experiences from this past year alone.  I know there are countless other examples of friendship in Chi Psi that I didn’t see or experience.

I’m most thankful for these – the simple acts of friendship done by our Brothers every day.  Thank you, Gentlemen.

Leave a Reply

