Introducing this year’s new staff – Justin Zolot, Pi ’12

The newest Central Office staffers have moved into Nashville for training at the Chi Psi Central Office. Today, you’ll get to meet the third Chi Psi staff member who will be visiting your Alpha this academic year, Justin Zolot, Pi ’12:

Tell us a little bit about yourself, Justin. Where are you from? Where’d you join Chi Psi?

Hi everyone, my name is Justin Zolot, and I am one of the newest members of the Chi Psi Central Office. I recently graduated from Union College with a double major in Economics and Classics, and was a Brother at Alpha Pi for three years. During my time as an undergraduate at Alpha Pi, I served as the Alpha’s #4 and made a strong effort to keep the Lodge’s budget in check despite its various challenges. The experiences I had as #4 and as a Brother of the Alpha taught me valuable lessons about fiscal responsibility and accountability. It also gave me the opportunity to grow as a person and has prepared me for what lies ahead in the years following graduation from Union.

Other than Chi Psi, what do you like to do in your free time?

In addition to being a proud member of Chi Psi, during my time at Union I was a member of the Union College baseball team, an admissions tour guide, an intern at the Union College alumni office, and a contributing staff blogger for the Union Hockey Blog. On the weekends, I held a game night staff position with the New Jersey Devils’ AHL affiliate in Albany. Safe to say I kept myself busy as much as I could!

I grew up in North Andover, Massachusetts, located about 35 minutes north of Boston. I am a diehahd Sox, Pats, and  Celtics fan. In hockey, however, I am a big New Jersey Devils fan. I know, strange…but as I was growing up they seemed to always draft Boston College players and that, of course, before going to Union was my favorite college hockey team. I have a younger sister who just completed her first year at the University of New Hampshire, and both my parents are dentists.

Why do you want to work for the Central Office?

I chose to work in the Central Office because I wanted to give back to an organization that has become so important and part of me over the past three years. I have had amazing experiences both locally at my Alpha and at National Conventions in Seattle and Ann Arbor. My goal is to share my experiences with undergrads, and to learn more about myself as I travel to places I wouldn’t normally visit if not gratefully given this opportunity.

What are you most looking forward to being an Alpha Visitor?

What I look forward most about working in the CO is to take in the “southern” Nashville culture as much as I can. As a New Englander, particularly a Bostonian, you can imagine how sideways people think my lifestyle is. I talk funny, I wear cargo shorts seriously, and I don’t wear croakies with my sunglasses. The only thing close to southern experiences that I have up north is going to a Kenny Chesney concert every August.

Anyway, I look forward to meeting and working with you all, and I cant wait to get started!

One response to “Introducing this year’s new staff – Justin Zolot, Pi ’12

Leave a comment